werner's chameleon eyes closed and mouth open

lainezor

Hello everyone, I have a Werner's chameleon named Syd, age unknown, whom i've had for 8 months, recently stop opening his eyes. Yesterday I took him to the vet and he said there was some debris in his eye and to give him an anti-inflammatory called Metacam and use an eye wash solution to clear his eye out. He has not opened his eye for more than a couple of seconds and is refusing food. He is leaving his mouth open and hissing constantly and now he just bit his own tongue. My vet is not in today as it is Saturday and I am really worried about him, he really doesnt look good and isnt eating. He has a real pothos plant in his cage, ive been keeping chameleons for 4 years and I am very confident that he is setup properly. His temps range for 89-68F. I havent used the eye steam solution yet because I am afraid of hurting him more, any advice? I left my phone number at the vets and they said he might get back to me today.

• Your Chameleon -Werner's chameleon named Syd, male, age unknown, whom i've had for 8 months
  • Handling - Usually friendly, handled once every few weeks or so
  • Feeding - crickets and silkworms.
  • Supplements -calcium no d3 mon-fri, friday he gets 3 silks, saturday plain crickets and sunday i alternate between calcium d3 and herptivite multivitamin.
  • Watering - Exo terra monsoon set to go off for 120 seconds every 2 hours.
  • Fecal Description - He had been tested for parasites and came back negative. Normal looking poops with white urates.
  • History - He was probably wild caught, has been in my care for 8 months an is not gaining any weight at all, my digital scale is always reading him at 26g.

Cage Info:
  • Cage Type - Repti-breeze large size.
  • Lighting - reptiglo 5.0 UVB linear bulb, changed ever 6 months. Household bulb for basking heat.