Veiled chameleon not eating

My daughter wanted to add a chameleon to our family so we adopted a veiled chameleon a week ago Saturday. We were told he is male and about a year old. My daughter is 12 so I am overseeing and helping with his care and feeding. She's afraid to get the crickets and mealworms. Lol.

She named him Mister Li-zard, pronounced Lie-zard(say like the word hard). He came to us in a 16"x16"x20" mesh cage. He also had a 50 watt heat bulb and UVB bulb. I have no experience with UVB bulbs and over this last week realized it was not working properly so I bought a new one two nights ago. A couple of days before that I bought him a 100 watt heat bulb versus the 50 watt he came with. The night I bought the new UVB bulb I also bought him a night time heat bulb that is 75 watt.

The day after we brought him home my daughter saw Mister Li-zard catch and eat a cricket. The next day, Monday, it looked like he ate two. On Tuesday I saw him try to catch a cricket that was roaming his cage and he missed it. He didn't eat anything that day. We put his crickets and mealworms in a dish where they mostly can't get out of and started counting what he ate. It doesn't seem like he has ate any bugs since last Monday. He had never been offered vegetation so we started putting shredded carrot and cut up turnip, collard and mustard greens in the dish with the bugs. It's hard to tell if he's eating that.

We were told they misted him once a day but I read online to do it at least twice a day so we started misting twice a day. Every day I see him drinking the droplets of water off the leafs in his cage. Today when I misted him the first time he went around drinking every water droplet he could find. I've never seen him drink so much. After he drank all he could find I misted his favorite area again and he drank a little more. I misted his cage three different times today since he seemed so thirsty this morning.