Training Behaviors

jajeanpierre

Chameleon Enthusiast
I decided to put my money where my mouth is and try to train a behavior to one of my Veiled chameleons. I had thought I would only post when I had the finished behavior, but I'm a pretty lazy trainer and putting the plan up front before I started might be enough to motivate me to actually DO the training.

I'll work with my young female veiled since she is my one true glutton. Although she is less tolerant of any sort of handling when compared to my male veiled, she is the one who will gorge herself when being hand fed.

The Behavior:
I want to train her to step onto a scale to be weighed. That might have to be modified to just training her to step onto a stick since the scale might need to be on an open flat surface that she might not be comfortable with.

Training Plan:
Teach her to touch the end of a target stick (a chopstick) with her nose. Once she will touch the stick, up the criteria to have to move her feet to reach target stick. As she becomes more fluent in moving to touch the target stick, increase distance and direction she must move, all within her enclosure. Eventually, have her move up on the scale in order to touch the target stick with her nose.

I'm not sure how I'll introduce the scale. She has been weighed, but was not happy about it and exhibited escape behaviors while being weighed. I think I'll introduce the scale on some sort of high platform in front of her open cage door when she is proficient at touching the target stick and see if she will continue to work in its presence. Then I will know how much work I will need to do to desensitize her to it.