Substrate Nightmare!!!

ZiggyStardust

Hello very experienced and knowledgeable Cham owners!

Can I just say, by the way, that if I hadn't discovered this forum, my newly owned male Veiled would probably be dead in about a month, so thank you all so much for the knowledge that you pass on.

Bit of background.

I am new to keeping chameleons. We have owned Mediterranean Spur Thighed Tortoises for 16 years but I have never had the pleasure of owning a lizard. Anyhoo - happened across them for sale recently at a reputable reptile and aquatic store in Blackpool, England. have to say that despite being absolutely fascinated by these creatures for nearly all my life, I had never seen one in the flesh, so to see them for sale sent me into orbit! I knew that I had to do this!

So, about 6 weeks ago, I told the store proprietor that I wanted to be a cham owner. I told him that I had never kept a lizard before, was a total novice, but that I intended to do a lot of reading and make sure that I knew what I was getting into before I took the plunge.

I asked him if he could set everything up for me - bought a large viv which is all glass, with opening front doors and a screen top.

Went to pick it up and everything was in situ. Substrate (which i know now is the devil's spawn for chameleons but I didn;t know any different then), lots of branches, artificial leaves, perching places. UV and heat lamp, themostat controlled.

Took it all home and tested everything for 48 hours before I went to collect my male Cham, Ziggy.

Everything fine for the next 3 weeks.

Ziggy expressed a preference, in fact an insistence for hoppers and stopped entertaining crickets as soon as I introduced them. Eating between 10 and 20 hoppers a day. Dusting hoppers with calcium and with a vitamin suppment and D3 once every 2 weeks. I have a tank for my feeders with fresh greens and fruit.