Silkworm growth

Andee

Chameleon Enthusiast
The locale of silkworms i have are extremely slow growing. However genetically strong. Im frustrated with the time they take to grow. Im trying to time out when to pull another 300 eggs to hatch but omg i cant seem to guess their growth rate.

Otherwise the other inverts are growing like mad. Im slowly creating a collecting method. But otherwise i am looking at adding some for sale in the next few months. Very excited.

I'm just starting to learn how to breed my own silkworms. Hatched my first 200 eggs and have others at various sizes. I have 6 cocoon's as of this morning and I am sure more tomorrow. It's pretty interesting actually! I had some that were really slow and so I put them in my incubator box with the eggs and they beefed up pretty quickly. That said, I am no expert! Still waiting for my first moth!

I wish my silks had grown much slower. I can’t remember if I ordered 500 or 250 eggs, but about half never hatched. Must have been 500, as I ended up with a few hundred silks. The bulk of them grew faster than I could feed them and my beardie chose this time to go into brumation. Currently have at least 60+ cocoons and about another 30 that are in process of cocooning. Really odd thing though…there are about 20 that are still really tiny…like about 1” or smaller. I keep them fed…they just aren’t growing.

I wish my silks had grown much slower. I can’t remember if I ordered 500 or 250 eggs, but about half never hatched. Must have been 500, as I ended up with a few hundred silks. The bulk of them grew faster than I could feed them and my beardie chose this time to go into brumation. Currently have at least 60+ cocoons and about another 30 that are in process of cocooning. Really odd thing though…there are about 20 that are still really tiny…like about 1” or smaller. I keep them fed…they just aren’t growing.