Sick Jackson's: Looking for Community Input

Connorology

Avid Member
Good Afternoon All,

So the takeaway to the attached novel is that I'm looking for some community input on my chameleon's health issues. I have taken him to an experienced exotics veterinarian and I am a veterinary student myself. That said, chameleons are unique animals, and it can be tough to find good chameleon specific information through the official veterinary channels I am aware of. If anyone here has had a similar experience and is willing to provide some input, I would be grateful.

Unfortunately my Jackson's Chameleon Pig seems to be having some serious health issues. I have taken him to my local exotic vet twice in the past two weeks. The issues started with general lethargy and a small growth on his foot. I was worried about an infection or maybe gout, so I took him in to the vet and she ran a CBC (blood analysis) and chem panel.

The results weren't great but weren't terrible either. He had an elevated white count indicating an infection, and high uric acid levels, along with a couple of other elevated markers suggesting dehydration (not unexpected - due to the lethargy, I was having difficulty getting him to eat and drink). I was given fortaz injections (broad spectrum antibiotic) and lactated ringers to keep him hydrated. I also started feeding him hornworms from my local reptile shop to try and entice him to eat and ensure his hydration stayed up to hopefully reduce the number of shots I'd have to give him.