Please help! Chameleon's eyes closed. 😢

Faithan84

I am new to chameleons. I've been doing tons of reading and learning. I've been making changes slowly as I have time/money.

Chameleon Info:

Your Chameleon - Kiwi is 3-5 months? Female Veiled. I've had her since December 20, 2020.

Handling - Very seldom. Only a few times. I've been working with her to get her comfortable with me.

Feeding - I started with crickets, mealworms, and waxworms. I recently switched her to crickets, black soldier fly larvae, and green bottle fly spikes. I've been hand feeding her about 5 crickets, then placing 5 black soldier fly larvae, and several green bottle fly spikes in a feeding bowl every morning. She's been eating everything I offer. I've been offering the crickets carrots, zucchini, cucumber, apple, kale, Fluker's Cricket Quencher, and Fluker's High Calcium Cricket Diet. I understand that there are higher quality gut-loads. I'm working my way there. I don't yet know how to gut-load the larvae. Am I feeding her too much?

Supplements - I've been using what I got in the beginning: Zoomed Repti Calcium without D3, and Zoomed Reptivite. I've been studying the crickets with the calcium about 6 times/week, and dusting with the Reptivite once a week. I've ordered Arcadia EarthPro-A and Repashy Calcium Plus Lo-D (per chameleonacademy.com's recommendation).

Watering - I've been doing a heavy mist in the morning and the evening. I've been using the Mist'r Lizard 16oz spray bottle until it's empty each time. I haven't been timing it. I've got a Little Dripper that I fill each day. I've seen her drink occasionally. She still gets nervous with me near her cage. I've been using spring water for all water in the vivarium.