Oustalet's?!

Bigheadben

Hey I'm a newbie to the forum,and am thinking about getting an Oustalet's Chameleon but am struggling to find care info online, I've kept Yemen before and have kept a range of other lizards from uromastyx to Cuban rock iguana so not a newbie to rep keeping! Just wondering what the general temperament of these guys is like? As rather something a bit more handleable than my Yemen was. What are people's experiences with them & any setup pics would be appreciated! Thanks, Jay
Thanks, Jay

Hi Bigheadben,

An oustalet's is a wonderful and docile chameleon. They get pretty large, in length. Of course every character differs but in average this species is very docile and laid back. My Jack (11 months) is housed in a full screen enclosure 24x24x48 and goes to a larger one when he is fully mature.

Since they are found in very different environments throughout Madagascar, shrubs, bushes, in crowded areas, forests, drier and more humid areas, the caring for these chameleons is pretty much the same as for veileds and panthers.

They love to eat. My Jack loves hoppers, large crickets, Rose beetles (Pachnoda sp), baby mice once a month, super worms, roaches and all kinds of worms.

Give them a larger enclosure, well planted and mist at least twice a day for a good few minutes. They like a good source of heat so a basking spot with 90F is sufficient.

Good luck!

2012-01-15%252014.15.39.jpg

2012-04-17%252012.02.13.jpg

Thank you miss machine for your reply! Great help! You've basically sold it to me haha, your setup looks great too :)

Yep, in general they thrive under the same kinds of conditions as panthers and veileds.