Orchids! and instructional guide (mostly phals and Psh)

atsutane

so right now i have 4 different phal orchids and two Hawaiian orchids that are the same plant but split, and im going to get another here pretty quick.

they are a little more time consuming than other plants, but not more so than any cham, and they make good additions to your cage because they will flower and thrive in the chams environment. with proper knowledge they can be as easy to take care of as African violets.

though not the best choice of protection or climbing vegetation, they are a simple addition to your chams cage and with a little observance, can be a cheap addition too.

most orchids will sell at 20-40$ a piece, then get taken home and shortly die after the flowers fall off because people do not know how to take care of them.

im no expert, but what i have been doing has been working and all of mine have flowered more than once and are quite happy from the looks of it.

the pictures are slightly bad but bear with me.

step 1) finding the orchid for you: there are a few different types of orchids commonly found, the most being the Phalaenopsis Orchids, and occasionally the Prosthechea or "Psh" orchids. i have had some experience with other species, but they are much more difficult IMO to take care of.

"phals" are characterized by a main plant consisting mainly of a few dark meaty leafs and the flower petals are very round and come in a variety of colors. they seem to be the most tolerant of different temperatures and are the easiest to get to flower often. they love cooler temps 75day 65 night.

"Psh" orchids are characterized by bulbs that have "grassy sprouts" off the bulbs. the flowers often are more slender and star shaped than the "phals."
psh orchids like a little higher temps, 80-90day, 70 night, to flower, but can easily sit in a window with phals at 75ish day and 65ish night and do well, rarely flowering though.