Newbie questions

Mel

I'm completely new to chameleons and at that I have a Senegal. Well he seems to be coming along now. I am wondering about the misting. He doesn't seem to like it. Presently I am doing it 3 times a day and giving him fresh drip as well.
1-How much misting is necessary?
2-Do you have to spray him directly?
3-How much food per day?
4-I have covered the bottom with plants. There is one large ficus for him to hang out on and a large branch that goes diagonal across. Does he need vertical limbs?
5-Is it possible to provide too many plants that might interfere with the hunt?
6-Oh yes what about the drainage system as I am going to need it unless I have been doing too much water. Is it economical to make it or just purchase it?
7-What about the timed misters I have seen mentioned? If you use that do you still need the drip and vice versa?

We are going to be working on the cage again this weekend. Thanks for your patience and help. Mel

You need to provide him with 3-4 hours of drinking oportunities. This will necesitate 4-5 20-minute misting sessions. It also depends on how high the humidity levels are in your area. I live in a high desert, so i am pouring A LOT of water into my enclosure. A drainage system is more than necesary. Whether you build it or buy it depends on your enclosure and its size. The upside of building your own is you can customize it to yur personal needs. I like to go buy some VERY cheep yard furniture. You know, the ones for little kids that are all plastic. Cut a hole in the bottom of your Cage for water to drain out of and then cut a hole in the plastic table. Get a grate/ drain cover (like in your shower) and then put it in the hole in the bottom of your cage. glue a larger diamater piece of PVC pipe over the grate on the underside of the cage to direct it to a bucket of some sort.