New to the Chameleon World

Hi,

I am new to the world of Chameleons. We just got our first Veiled Chameleon on October 5th. I have done a few months of research before we went on the hunt for a new member of our family. I think he is about 3 to 4 months old. He eats like crazy but only when no one is looking. He shed yesterday for the first time, with no problems at all. Today i just added his live plants to his screened enclosure. (It looks like a jungle in there and it is going to be even more hard to find him.) I then sprayed the cage down and he has spent the last 20 minutes in his new plants drinking all the water!! Its absolutly amazing to see him drink. I think this is the coolest reptile that I have owned and I have had a lot (my boyfriend used to work at a privatly owned pet shop for many years). I am glad to have gotten him. If anyone has some great tips, send them my way.

~Sarah

Welcome to the forum...its a great place to learn and ask anything chameleon :D

We are all a nosy bunch so how about a few pictures?

Also as you are fairly new to the cham world how about filling the below questionaire out so we can send some tips your way.

Once again welcome :)

Cage Info:

* Cage Type - Describe your cage construction (Glass, Screen, Combo?) What are the dimensions?
* Lighting - What brand, model, and type of lighting are you using? What is your daily lighting schedule?
* Temperature - What temp range have you created (cage floor to basking spot)? Lowest overnight temp? How do you measure these temps?
* Humidity - What are your humidity levels? How are you creating and maintaining these levels? What do you use to measure humidity?
* Plants - Are you using live plants? If so, what kind?
* Location - Where is your cage located? Is it near any fans, air vents, or high traffic areas? At what height is the top of the cage relative to your room floor?

Chameleon Info: