New Owner Seeking Advice for Stressed Chameleon

dani_and_gamora

Hi Everyone!

I am new to owning a chameleon, and have tried to/ still am researching everything from enclosure set up to normal behavior so that I don't stress her out. However, actually having her in front of me I am still not sure exactly what is just chameleon behavior and what is a problem that needs fixing.

When I got Gamora home from the store, I started to notice that she was super active but very clumsy and kind of reaching out into empty spaces like she couldn't see. I realized that she had not opened her eyes for a day and a half and immediately brought her to the vet. Thankfully the vet identified she was Vitamin A deficient and laid out all the steps to getting her healthy again.

When administering eye drops, I needed to handle her. Every morning I would place my hand in front of her and she'd crawl right on. She never puffed up, gaped, or anything that showed stress. She would also eat from a syringe and then crawl right back into her cage with no problem.

Now her eyes are open and bright - YAY! - And she eats with her tongue finally! So she is pretty much back to being what I think looks like a happy and healthy active chameleon.

But - Now that her eyes are open and she's feeling better, I noticed she puffs her chin out very far and will gape for 1-2 seconds randomly with seemingly no need for stress. She hasn't easily come out of the cage in the morning onto my hands in a few days, and I have not forced her in any way. She just either starts to lower her neck or back up so I back off. She is still very active in her cage though, and once she calms down she goes back to exploring her plants.

I noticed this morning that she turns a darker color with a few spots/stripes and starts to puff out right when her lights get turned on.