New Female Veiled - 1st-time owner with questions regarding overall setup and diet

Julia777

Established Member
Hello, everyone. I am excited to be part of this group and eager to benefit from your collective expertise.

About 4 months ago, my niece purchased a female veiled, not sure of exact age, but estimate that she is 5-6 months old. Since I have soft spot for animals, I have put much energy into caring for the cham and it will be moving into my place in the near future, where it will likely reside at least 9 of 12 months. My niece will then take it home for summers and "babysit" when I am out of town. I have already taken the chameleon to two different vets 3x in total to treat an eye problem, which is now resolved. I am brand new to the cham scene, so have been reading up a storm to learn quickly about optimal conditions for raising a female veiled. I will outline below what I have done so far:

Personality: She will climb onto my hand, eat worms from my hand, and accept me dropping water on her head so that it rolls down to her mouth (through the screen, using dripper) sometimes. She also drinks from dripper without my aligning it directly over her. When she had eye problem, she tolerated me and my niece giving her eye medication daily for 3-4 weeks. When I spray her directly with water or near her, she turns colors to show that she is perturbed. She hisses on occasion, but has never bitten anyone and has been held by at least 10 different people (not to mention, several doctors). She can be taken out of the cage, but when I do so she is restless, walks faster, and is eager to get back in. We try to take her out at least once per day as it seems important that she continue to trust us and to be tame in the event future medical care and handling is needed.