New Chameleon Pet Momma--Need Help Please! :(

MadiiMcMB

My name is Madii, and I am a beginner Veiled chameleon owner. I have one little cham named Milton, and he's such a cutie. But I have a bit of a problem. I had a piece of cured driftwood and some chunks of cured grape wood in his cage, and now they have mold on them. I took everything out, and sanitized and cleaned everything, including his temporary home, and put the fake vines and plants back but not the wood. Did I do something wrong to make it mold like that, or was the wood in general a bad idea?

His temporary home is a small glass terrarium. I will be getting or making him a larger screened enclosure instead of using glass, knowing that reflections stress chameleons out. I also intend on getting some sort of live plant. I have heard that ficus trees are good choices.

I welcome any suggestions for better, healthier things for him to climb on if possible, and any other tips as well.

Attachments

• 100_1787.jpg
    100_1787.jpg
    248.1 KB · Views: 128
Heya! Welcome to the forums! :D Your little one is a sweetie! Ficus are okay.. hit and miss with me keeping them alive but they are pretty. I've heard good and bad with them. Pothos are excellent and almost too hard to kill. You can put them anywhere in the enclosure. Lots of vines to string everywhere for your little one! Also, Schefflera ( umbrella plant ) is pretty easy to keep and when healthy can provide lots of little nooks and crannies for your sweet boy to hide. I have both of these in all my enclosures. I hope this helps a little. I searched through the following when I was making my plant list. Good luck!

https://www.chameleonforums.com/plants/

Thanks so much laurenleeg. I'm so worried about him, I feel like a new mom with her first baby. :( His health and happiness are certainly my first priorities with him. Your suggestions are very helpful, and I appreciate the link you posted. :)

Hey Madii, welcome to the forum!