New Cham - small/weak/blind? Help!

MUMMA2WLDTHINGS

Hello! I am brand new at caring for reptiles, but am a devoted and relentless researcher when it comes to rescuing & rehabbing animals.

We currently have 2 ferrets, a new red bearded dragon and a Great Dane. I have a busy household with 5 kids - one of whom wanted a beardie for Xmas.

While searching for the perfect beardie for him, I came a cross a really ill-kempt pet store. There was a tiny cage with several baby chameleons in it, right on the counter next to the register. It was the small all-screen cage, had 2 lights, a fake plant and that was it. Over the course of a month, I went in an observed the chameleons, thinking they might be a good pet for my son. I went in at different times of the day and never once saw food or any source of water in the cage. Every single leaf on the fake plant had multiple droppings on it, and the astro turf grass was covered with them, as well. All the animals in the store live in these conditions and a search for the store on Yelp shows dozens of horrible reviews for sick and dying/dead animals.

By the end of the 4 weeks, they were down to 2 chameleons. They told me they were 8 weeks old a week ago. The male was super scrawny with sunken eyes. You could see every rib and he was always very dark and lethargic. The little female was usually lighter and appeared to be plumper around the middle, but was also lethargic. Her eyes were not sunken. They would not sit under the light together and hissed at and pushed each other.

I asked to hold her every time I went in, to see what her disposition was like. I saw no signs of infection, injury, deformity, joint swelling or stress color changes, though she was handled very roughly by staff. In all the 4 weeks I had been looking at reptiles in all the local stores, these were the only 2 that had not grown nor shed.