New Cham owner. Black outline on veil.

BeatTheBeat

Hello. I am a new proud owner of a veiled chameleon. He is 5 months old and I got him a few weeks ago. I have a small enclosure at the moment but I'm trying to get another. Where I live it's hard to find big tanks. But his tank is screened and I keep the humidity between 50% and 80%. At basking it's 95 degrees and in cool areas I keep it at 80. The light is a 50w and I have the uvb also. I feed him 5 small crickets a day. I buy themgut loaded. I'm very new to all of this so this is what I have. Recently, I've noticed that there is a black outline on his veil and part of his face. He's constantly falling off the screen ceiling and he's a bit shaky. It just started a few days ago. Before that, he was acting fine. I'm worried if it's the bone disease I keep reading about or parasites. Also to include, I bought some different crickets the other day because the other closest pet store is a ways away. Half of them were dead by morning. I fed them and everything but they just died. Could that be the cause or is it burns? *To also add I am new to the forums and if there is any other info or pictures needed, I'm sorry. I'm willing to post them as requested*

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    162 KB · Views: 278
Get rid of the substrate. He might eat it causing impaction. Basking site should be at least 6"+ away from the light. It does look like burn. Others with more experience should chime in. He should be eating far more than 5 crickets. Among other feeders. The crickets need to be gutloaded with something good like cricket crack, bug burger and or fruits and vegetables suitable for chameleons. Your veiled looks like a desert dweller not a forest one. He needs foliage, live plants if you could. Get some green in there so he can hide if he wants to. Make sure to have a dripper or misting system for water and or mist several times a day letting everything dry in between misting.