New cham does not seem to like powdered crickets

Hoofhearted

Hello all, first off I'd like to say that I'm new to raising a chameleon. I've raised and bred anoles and raised a pair of leopard geckos. I have read lots and lots about chameleons so I got one for my son, though i am the primary caregiver.

3 month old veiled

Reptibreeze startup kit 16x16x30

Mini dual fixture lamp with one blue light day. bulb and one 5.0 uvb bulb

Basking temp: 83

Middle temp: 74

Humidity: ranges from 40 to 62

Reptifogger mist system

No lights at night

Night time temp is lower 70s

Ok so I got the cham 2 weeks ago but he has been very finicky when it comes to eating...ate nothing the first day, second day ate 1 cricket (it may have been a little big), nothing day 3 or 4, bought some 1 week old crickets and he/she ate like 5 of them. I'm pretty sure it's a male but not positive. I've been seeing they should be eating 12 or more a day. He eats like every other day. The first feeding was with d3 powder the time that he ate 5 I didnt put any powder at all on the crickets, the day after he ate 5 I coated them with regular calcium no d3 and he only ate a couple and now it seems like he wont touch any crickets with powder on them.....I tried more crickets with out any on them and he ate like another 5, but I still dont think he is eating enough any thoughts and ideas on this?

They don't need to be powdered too heavily. They should barely show traces of dust and not look like powdered donuts. Too much calcium at one time can slow digestion that goes double for CA with D3.

They don't need to be powdered too heavily. They should barely show traces of dust and not look like powdered donuts. Too much calcium at one time can slow digestion that goes double for CA with D3.