Need some advice for enclosure...

armando

Hi everyone!
Im new at this....
Im planning to buy a couple of veiled chameleons, but first, im trying to get as much information before I do.
I do have tortoises and some other reptiles, so Im really into this, and I know how picky reptiles get to be.
The point is....
I live in Sonora, Mexico.... We have HOT desert weather.
Im planing to buy a 72" high , 29"x29" aluminium reptarium.
Wich will be divided into 2 sections. Each section will have one baby veiled chameleon...(Male and female).
The enclosure will be decorated with natural plants, like pothos, ficus, and some others...
but my biggest concern its the heating....
I wanted to have them outside in a safe and shaded place, but Im concerned that sometimes it gets way too hot.
So... I tought that maybe inside was a better place...
But what worries me... its that my house its equipped with cooling system that keeps it cold and nice in summer.
would that be a big deal?
Would it be better to keep them outside?
any advice?
Thanks a lot everyone!!!

I think keeping them inside in a controlled environment would be best. I don't know exactly how hot it gets there but if it exceeds the max temps for Veilds, best to keep them inside with an air conditioner. Also, make sure that there is a visual barrier between the 2 Chams. They can and will stress one another out if seen. :) Welcome and enjoy your stay at the Cameleon Forums!:D

the hottest temperatures outside in summer its from 40 - 45 Celsius (under shade).
Visual barrier will be placed in the middle, from bottom to top :)
wouldnt it be too cold for them inside? :S

the hottest temperatures outside in summer its from 40 - 45 Celsius (under shade).
Visual barrier will be placed in the middle, from bottom to top :)
wouldnt it be too cold for them inside? :S

Depends on what you have your air conditioner at. If it's too cold, up the wattage on your basking bulb until you reach your desired temp. :)

oh great!