My Sambava sleeping early

ColorCham427

Avid Member
Hey all, So my almost 6 month old male Sambava has been going to sleep a little earlier than usual. His daylights turn on at 8 am and nightlights turn on at 7:15 pm. But he seems to be falling asleep at 5:30-6:00 ish pm... He has only eaten 3 crix and 1 hornworm in the past 2 days....HELP

thanks!

is that one of those blue coated bulbs? if so I'd ditch that pretty quick, sure the chameleon's eyes are closed so he probably doesn't see it, maybe he's going to bed early so that he doesn't have to see that nightlight

I am fairly new to the game but I bought a deluxe combo light with 2 (up to) 75 watt bulbs and a fluorescent fixtures

I bought:

5.0 reptisun uv fl.
75 watt day light from zoo med (blueish but appears to human eye to be white light)
75 watt night light (red) which I turn off a little after the ac goes off before bed.

I would love your advice if these bulbs are good. (all temps are fine, day, basking, night) Thanks for the help!

The 5.0 Reptisun flourescent is a good bulb (see http://www.uvguide.co.uk).

Does the day light bulb look something like this:
zoomedblue.jpg

If it does: those aren't the recommended bulbs to be used as basking lights. Instead, you could use a regular (and much cheaper) household spot light that looks like this:
DP95D.jpg

I'm not sure if the blue light has any ill effects on the cham, but as I said, the spot globes are the ones that are normally recommended, and provided you don't buy reptile-branded ones, they are a lot cheaper.

The red night light is completely wrong, and you shouldn't be using it. Chams generally don't need any heat source at night when they are sleeping, and in fact they benefit from a 10F-15F degree drop in temps at night. Provided the temperatures in your house are not dipping below 60F at night, there is no reason to use heating at night for your chameleons.