lighting

NateD13

ok so I'm new to owning a Cham. here is what I need to know. I have a Zoo-med deep dome. in one side I have a 100w mercury vapor bulb and in the other I have a white ceramic heater. what I was told was this...
I use the vapor bulb during the day and it acts as the UV source and heating source. at night I run the ceramic heater. this will keep the temp regulated and allow the little guy the darkness he needs to sleep at night. thanks for the assist.

Hi there and welcome. This resource page will help you quite a bit. https://www.chameleonforums.com/care/lighting/ I got my lighting set up from Todd at www.lightyourreptiles.com. He has excellent products and is really helpful. To my knowledge mercury bulbs should only be used in very large enclosures.
How cold does your house get and what type of Chameleon do you have? You may not need a heat source at night. Here is another good link just click on the one for your Cham https://www.chameleonforums.com/care/caresheets/

Hey thanks. I have a Veiled that is under a year old. And my cage is the zoo-med screen cage that is 24x24x48. It gets down to about 68-70 in my house at night

@NateD13 ok so Veileds can handle a temp drop down to 50 degrees F. Is yours a male or a female? Because that will also shift care needs. So you could do away with the ceramic heat bulb. Get a regular basking bulb and do a T5 UVB fixture as they are better for disbursing UVB. I would get in touch with Todd he is really great and his products are amazing. I think it would help you to fill this out so everyone can get a better idea of your set up to help you.

Chameleon Info:
  • Your Chameleon - The species, sex, and age of your chameleon. How long has it been in your care?
  • Handling - How often do you handle your chameleon?
  • Feeding - What are you feeding your cham? What amount? What is the schedule? How are you gut-loading your feeders?