Jackson's Chameleon: Startup/Where To Buy

Connorology

Avid Member
Hi All,

Long time lurker, first time poster. I'm new to chameleons, but not to reptiles. I recently decided it was time to make the plunge, and have been accumulating equipment for the last couple weeks. I finally set up my enclosure this weekend. I've got an umbrella plant, pothos, a few bolt on branches and those artificial vines everyone seems to use.

I'm using a modified bird cage (It's super nice oak enclosure from Designer Aviaries, retails for $800 new, I got it off craigslist for $80). For humidity I have a fogger on a timer, a drip system I made from some sprinkler parts, and a plain hand mister. Humidity seems pretty solidly 50-60% with just hand held mistings, I can get to hold around 60-80% no problem with the fogger and drip system. I've got a low wattage basking light for heat and a tube for UVB.

I will post pics if anyone cares to critique the set up prior to introducing an actual animal. I've followed all the guidelines to the letter save the modified birdcage set up, but my temperature and humidity readings are on the money and I'm comfortable cup feeding to prevent feeder escapes.