Is she pregnant?

Amy J

My family and I bought a female Jackson's from a petstore a few days ago, and I think she may be gravid. The petstore employee suggested this after I mentioned she looked very overweight. There apparently had been a male Jackson's in there. There had been a Fischer's too. I don't know enough about breeding to know whether it is possible he could have mated with her...She's probably about 8 months old. She seems very healthy and active. Does not overeat. She started exploring her new cage as soon as we got her. I even found her on the ground the other day, which leads me to believe she is looking for a place to give birth. But how can I be sure she is gravid? I tried feeling her stomach today, but I don't know what to feel for. She's a Jackson's so there won't be eggs, I no that. And I think that makes it a little bit harder to look for signs (no digging). So is there anything I can do to determine whether she's gravid or not?

P.S. I'm new to chameleons.

Attachments

• chamz.jpg
    chamz.jpg
    72.2 KB · Views: 343
She gets these little black splotches on her if that's what you mean. You can sort of see it on her upper right leg in the pic. She also gets redish tinges to her but I assume that's normal. Does that mean anything?

WOW! Yes, she looks VERY pregnant! I have not personally bred jacksons, so i cant 100% confirm that, however I observed literally hundreds of females in both the wild and in petstores when I was living in Hawaii. Over the span of about 3.5 years, I have seen probably 20+ females that size, and they all gave birth to 9-15ish within about two weeks of that.

Another one of my observations, which might be totally coincidental, is that she is really showing a "red phase" as many female jacksons go through - I have observed that as well prior to giving birth.