Introductions

I’m Gloria! I am an art teacher in southern Missouri. Here is a photo of me and my dog Camile (full name Chameleon) and me with some baby ducks our FFA kiddos hatched last week!

Attachments

• IMG_1350.jpeg
    IMG_1350.jpeg
    127.8 KB · Views: 1
  • IMG_1352.jpeg
    IMG_1352.jpeg
    97.5 KB · Views: 2
I’m Gloria! I am an art teacher in southern Missouri. Here is a photo of me and my dog Camile (full name Chameleon) and me with some baby ducks our FFA kiddos hatched last week!
DUCKIESSSSSSS omg. I feel like I should have been raised on a farm with baby animals. They are sooooo cute. Is Camile a doxie?

Have you had good results with them @MissSkittles!? I’ve been doing some light research to see if they would be a good option but I hadn’t made a decision yet.
Yes, I have for the most part. They don’t fly or climb very well, so I keep them in a plastic bin in the garage. They like it hot to breed. I keep them bioactively on a couple of inches of organic soil mix with dwarf white isopods and springtails. They have bred better for me this way, so I assume they like it. I’ve had my colony for about 4 years. There’s been a couple of times that my colony has grown too big, so I’ve sold some off. Right now some of the older ones have died off and it was expected, so I had bought some to replace them to add some different genes. I have had some escapees (due to my fault) and they have not infested my home. Every month or two I remove the adults to sift out the nymphs, which I keep in a separate bin.