Help with hornworms

SteveFrench

Hey guys, I'm relatively new to the forums. I have been stalking for about 8 months, which ended up being about a month before I got my first chameleon. A veiled named Steve French. By now i'm about 7 months deep into an extreme addiction and at this point me and my partner keep 16 panthers, Steve, and another panther on the way.

Anyways, we have about 150 hornworms in the pupate stage at the moment, and I want to get as much information as I can concerning the care and breeding of the moths. I have read in a few places you have to feed them sugar water by hand and its extremely time consuming. On the other hand I have also read that if they are in an area big enough where they will fly you can use a hummingbird feeder and that can work. Right now there is a 7 foot by 4 foot by 4 foot enclosure for them for when they turn into moths. Is that big enough for 150 moths? Am I going to have to hand feed them all? If anyone with prior experience breeding them could share their knowledge with me it would be much appreciated. Thanks ahead of time.

SteveFrench

Thanks your guide is very informative. What are your thoughts on that many moths being in one enclosure, is it big enough for that many?

pigglett79

Avid Member
It will be OK. All moths won't emerge at once anyway. Some may be dying off as others come out. It will be a daunting task to keep up with collecting eggs though! That is a ton of moths. I usually pupate around 30 at a time.

SteveFrench

Yeah I know its a lot... about half of the worms were fed off, they grew about 100 times faster than expected which made it impossible to feed enough off. On average how many eggs do you think you have been collecting per each female?

pigglett79

Avid Member