Hello From San Diego! New to Chameleons.

PrettyInInk87

Hello everyone! I just got my first Chameleon last night and I believe he is an Ambilobe Panther not exactly sure but I do know he is a Panther. This little guy was found by and old lady in her back yard and was taken to a friend of mines Reptile Rescue and then adopted by me. :D

He was given to me with a small mesh cage, little bit of Repti Bark substrate, and a peice of drift wood, nothing else. I have been reading LOTS on Chameleons and know I am missing quite a few things to make him fully happy. Some time this week I will be going out to buy him a nice real plant and will be rigging up a drip system from cups (I read). He looks very thin to me but again, I am new to these little guys and don't know if they normally look that way. I am trying my best to accomidate his needs and am very STOKED to have him.:D Any advice and help would be GREATY appreciated.

IMG_15892.jpg

IMG_1599.jpg

IMG_1597.jpg

IMG_1602.jpg

IMG_15892.jpg

IMG_1591.jpg

Yes, he is a panther and is a male. I am assuming that is a basking light you got there? You need a UVB bulb asap! Get a reptisun 5.0 tube. Basking light should be about a 40-60 watt house bulb. That cage is way too small! You need to get a cage around 24 X 24 X 48. or 36 X 30 X 18. Get a plant in there right away. Poor guy is probably stressed out and has no where to hide! Make sure you mist the cage to provide water for him. Remove the bark substrate immediately, he may eat it which can lead to many problems!!!