Hatching Baby Veiled Chameleons

ChefRowan88

Hi All,

I have quite a few eggs hatching this year and its my first time. How do you notice when the eggs are ready to hatch? What must I look for and if you have any guidance during the process it would be very helpful!

Also thank you to the admins for approving my request to join this forum!!

Welcome to the forum!

As the eggs near the hatching time, the shells will usually develop windows (spots that look thinner and a different color)....they should shrink and sweat too. They will split in an X shape at one end. Some eggs won't do these things and will just split at the end.

What temperature are you incubating them at? How are you incubating them? On what substrate? In the dark?

I am using a Lucky herp II Incubator at 26°C, the substrate is the same soil that my female used for laying them in. when i put them in, I added a little luke warm water at the corners of each box and sealed them a lid on each box. Theyre in the dark. But the incubator has a subtle light inside, for me to check on them every now and again.

Welcome to the forum!

As the eggs near the hatching time, the shells will usually develop windows (spots that look thinner and a different color)....they should shrink and sweat too. They will split in an X shape at one end. Some eggs won't do these things and will just split at the end.

What temperature are you incubating them at? How are you incubating them? On what substrate? In the dark?

I am using a Lucky herp II Incubator at 26°C, the substrate is the same soil that my female used for laying them in. when i put them in, I added a little luke warm water at the corners of each box and sealed them a lid on each box. Theyre in the dark. But the incubator has a subtle light inside, for me to check on them every now and again.