FFA Fertilizer…

The Wild One

Chameleon Enthusiast
Hey guys, I’m going to do bunnies this year for FFA and since they poop so much would I be able to use it as fertilizer for Codas cage since I don’t use real fertilizer ?

Are we talking about a bioactive enclosure or what?
Wouldn't bunny balls BE "real" fertilizer? :unsure:

Can rabbits carry anything symbiotically that could adversely affect chameleons?
Zoonoses Associated with Rabbits

pathogens carried by rabbits

The above deal with diseases passed from rabbits to humans only because 'pathogens passed from rabbits to reptiles' didn't yield any results.

Just thinking about it though, enough questions come to mind (way more than above) that I think I'd be inclined not to risk it, but that's me.

You can bake it, though I wouldn't do that unless I had a spare/outdoor/trash oven personally. Plus, who knows if it'll kill everything (I have no experience with it, so I don't know the specifics to do it correctly).

Last edited:
How do you sterilize poop??
Poop can certainly be sterilized, it's just digested organic matter with bacteria. In fact, mushroom growers sterilize manure to grow off of.

You can bake it, though I wouldn't do that unless I had a spare/outdoor/trash oven personally. Plus, who knows if it'll kill everything (I have no experience with it, so I don't know the specifics to do it correctly).
It would most definitely kill everything if done right. Though I agree with you about the oven haha. It could also be boiled, or any sort of heat treatment.

Poop can certainly be sterilized, it's just digested organic matter with bacteria. In fact, mushroom growers sterilize manure to grow off of.

It would most definitely kill everything if done right. Though I agree with you about the oven haha. It could also be boiled, or any sort of heat treatment.
Oh I have no doubts it can be, I was just wondering how do you go about sterilizing it.

I know the soils I use have some type of poop based on the smell lol