Expert advice needed regarding Trioceros jacksonii merumontanus

jims

Hello,

I'm fairly new in keeping chameleons, hence the need of your expert advice.
I started last august with a young male ambilobe. He's doing really well and I found myself getting more and more interested in these wonderful little creatures. I've been thinking for a while to get a Trioceros jacksonii xantholophus as they are fairly easy to find where I live, but I always thought that I should first get more experienced with my panther before getting another species which, according to what I've read, needs more special requirements.
Last week, I have been informed a shipment of Merumontanus from Tanzania have arrived and I've always wanted a pair of those. They are not easy to find over here, and I know I should act fast, but I also really do not want to make any impulsive decision. So here are my questions :
Should I wait and get more experience with panthers or do you think I'm ready to try jacksons?
I don't know yet if these meru comes from a farm or are WC. Does it make any difference ? I've read that it's better to get CB chameleons as they are more healthy, but really, I don't know. What do you think ?

Thank you for your help !

I am not an expert on chameleons but I do have some years of experience in reptiles.

WC animals are usually very difficult to take care of. They are not used to humans at all and will often view you as a threat, the jump between wild environment to a controlled one can be big and its very difficult to replicate that mostly because you don't know where they've been found, how their lifestyle is, what they were being fed, light cycle...etc so be prepared for a lot of behavior issues and aggressiveness/stress. There is also the risk of parasites (external and internal) and disease as well. You don't know exactly what you're buying or what you are getting into, for all you know, you could be shedding out a lot dough for an animal that was doomed from the start.