Exoterra Sunray

SPork

It's about time to replace my lamps and i was looking at the sun ray halide fixture from Exoterra, but i can't find very many reviews. Is anyone currently using this fixture? I was thinking the 35w should be more than enough for a 2x2x4 along with a 24 inch t5ho for added light.

Well, I bit the bullet and purchased 2 of the 35w sun rays for both of my panthers. I worked in the aquarium lighting industry for a number of years and was not expecting much in the way of a ballast, but upon disassembling one of my fixtures I was pleasantly surprised to see a fullham electronic ballast. I have them mounted about 12 inches above my basking site in order to achieve 85 degrees.

Here is the ballast, fullham makes high quality ballasts at very affordable prices.

A shot of the beam

The cage on the left is currently lit by a cfl uvb, 25 watt incadescent basking lamp and a 6700k NOT8 and the cage on the right is lit by only the 35w sun ray.

Here is a closeup only the sunray

sunray and a 6700k NOT8

Aside from the light being very pleasing to the eye, i have noticed my chameleons seem to bask longer and more frequently under this than a simple incandescent.

I don't know if it's worth it to me since I don't have that kind of money laying around but it does look amazing

I think it came out to ~$140 per fixture, I got them at LLL and they had a $10 off coupon last week.

must be nice to live in the states lol, searching online only local store by me is 210 + taxes, or about 200 shipped. not sure what shipping costs from lll are like to canada

Thanks for the side by side photo. At 35 watts, it's quite impressive. I'll send you my solar meter to post your results. I need it back, but you can borrow it for a few days. Please post your results in the lighting thread. Send me your address in a PM and I'll get the solar meter right out.

Cheers.

same question think its about 300 correct? worth the extra money you think?