Exo Terra XL terrarium

Feathered

I have a 36x18x36 exo terra glass. I have been reading a lot and glass seems to have a ton of comments about ventilation issues for Chameleons. ExoTerrra claims that the front door vents are designed to let ventilation from the bottom rise out the top.

Does anyone have experience with the XL terrarium and it's ventilation? Any thoughts

Its situational, some people have to use glass because its too cold or humidity is hard to control, in which case its needed. If you can use a mesh system where you are at then I would. But yes there are some story's about vent issues causing URI's and what not.

oh boy..... can of worms opened!! lol...

My thoughts are that you will be fine. I think the key things are to make sure it has a chance to dry out between misting, and watch the humidity....

I have no experience with the XL, but I have used exo terra glass terrariums.

Yepp..... I figured this was going to be a fun topic. I'm obviously new to this forum and just starting to brain storm a chameleon setup but I'm pretty sure I have misspelled the word glass my whole life cause the chameleon world seems to think GLAS a 4 letter word. lol

I have raised birds and have had a number of reptile species so I'm a little familiar with humidity and not sure it can be maintained in my current home. The ventilation and air systems of the home just aren't humidity friendly as I have experienced in my fish tanks, incubators, reptile cages, etc. I recently acquired the exo terra and although I like the display view I am not sure that it will have enough ventilation for chameleons. I have seen mention of small fans, which I have used in incubators and such, so I am sure it would be easy enough to place atop the screen with an outward pull and drag ventilation from the front lower vents but wonder if it would be enough.