Drop In Temperature.

Hi there! I’m really new to the chameleon owning and I have a questions. When we got my Cham it was Farley hot here in Florida (4 days ago) but it has dropped a lot to even 40°F and I was wondering since I’m out of the house a lot. Should I leave all the lights on for the Cham? Meaning Day, UVB + the night light for extra heat. I honestly didn’t recommend it but someone did it while I was away and I’m wondering if I should do it or not.
If you need info on the cage uhm well it’s basically the starter kit chameleon cage. We gave him a lot of foliage so he has a lot of cover and it gets Farley dark in the bottom if he ever gets too hot.
I shall await feedback.
Thank you!

Hi there! I’m really new to the chameleon owning and I have a questions. When we got my Cham it was Farley hot here in Florida (4 days ago) but it has dropped a lot to even 40°F and I was wondering since I’m out of the house a lot. Should I leave all the lights on for the Cham? Meaning Day, UVB + the night light for extra heat. I honestly didn’t recommend it but someone did it while I was away and I’m wondering if I should do it or not.
If you need info on the cage uhm well it’s basically the starter kit chameleon cage. We gave him a lot of foliage so he has a lot of cover and it gets Farley dark in the bottom if he ever gets too hot.
I shall await feedback.
Thank you!

Hello,

your UVB light and Heat / basking bulb should be on during the day -- 12 hours. At night there should be NO light, complete darkness and you can turn the heat off too. Unless you're seeing your breath at night in you're house it is not to cold for your chameleon.

I, too, but the chameleons starter kit and realized it is not sufficient for proper chameleon care. If you're interested I can run through husbandry with you and provide some links to proper enclosure supplies. Let me know!