Chameleon with Swollen Eyes

HelenOfTroy

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting. My veiled female chameleon, 3.5 years old, has swollen eyes and is loosing weight and arm strength. She sometimes puts her eyes back in so she looks normal and then later they both are swollen and popping out again. I've been giving her vitamin (high in vitamin A) and calcium drops from Flukkers to supplement her diet, feed her crickets every two to three days which eat carrots and she got a new full spectrum reptile basking light about 2 months ago. She has a mesh breathable cage and I give her water through a syringe every three days (she hates drinking and water). Her appetite is ok, just doesn't seem to be keeping on weight and doesn't have very healthy looking limbs. Any suggestions what this could be?

Hi there. It could be a number of things. Be very cautious supplementing with vitamins and calcium... Vitamin A and Calcium with D3 can be toxic if they are over supplemented. They are both fat soluble so they store in the tissues.

You could fill out the form below and post pictures of the entire enclosure lights down and her. This will help us to help you.

Here is some recommended information to include when asking for help in the health clinic forum. By providing this information you will receive more accurate and beneficial responses. It might not be necessary to answer all these questions, but the more you provide the better. Please remember that even the most knowledgeable person can only guess at what your problem may be. Only an experienced reptile veterinarian who can directly examine your animal can give a true diagnosis of your chameleon's health.

Chameleon Info:

• Your Chameleon - The species, sex, and age of your chameleon. How long has it been in your care?
  • Handling - How often do you handle your chameleon?
  • Feeding - What are you feeding your cham? What amount? What is the schedule? How are you gut-loading your feeders?