Chameleon Vomit?

oggcaleb

Hi, I’m new here I’m just trying to figure out what this is. It’s fairly big in size especially compared to her poops but I have a Veiled Chameleon she’s pretty young maybe like 3-4 inches I would say I’ve had her for 2 weeks now and I’m very new to owning one. I assume this is vomit. Can anyone help me? Thank you in advance. She also just shedded in like a day as well. Is that normal? And could it contribute to whatever this is?

Attachments

• 333D1684-1E3F-431C-BFF4-A5992FF079B9.jpeg
    333D1684-1E3F-431C-BFF4-A5992FF079B9.jpeg
    216.1 KB · Views: 43
Welcome to the forum! There are some great folks with wonderful advice here that can hopefully help you.

To me, that looks like poop with poorly digested bugs in it. What's your lighting setup? What is her basking temperature?

Can you post some more pictures of your cham and your enclosure, including the lights? Also pictures of any supplements you're using too.

Also, if you have a female, you'll need to put together a lay bin if you don't have one yet. :) All veiled chameleon females lay eggs whether or not they've mated with a male. Making sure you have a lay bin in there now is going to make it much easier on her when she's ready to lay.

Here's the form you should copy/paste in if you'd like an overall husbandry review. This usually helps folks pinpoint what might be the cause of oddities in chameleon activity/poops/eyes/whatever.

Chameleon Info:
  • Your Chameleon - The species, sex, and age of your chameleon. How long has it been in your care?
  • Handling - How often do you handle your chameleon?
  • Feeding - What are you feeding your cham? What amount? What is the schedule? How are you gut-loading your feeders?
  • Supplements - What brand and type of calcium and vitamin products are you dusting your feeders with and what is the schedule?
  • Watering - What kind of watering technique do you use? How often and how long to you mist? Do you see your chameleon drinking?