Chameleon Plant Q’s

Jc555

I have a few Q’s about a plant i want to get for my chameleon enclosure (Veiled), the plant is schefflera (Abricola)

1. I know this is a mid light plant, so what should be my standards with lighting wise making sure its mainly not dieing (losing minimal leaves)? My light setup right now is two Daylight blue 60w bulbs for basking, and a T5 UVB.

2. Water amountage i read they like it dry on the top in between mistings of my ReptiRain which i use, my question is how should i regulate this? There isnt really a specific amount currently my chameleon is sprayed for 30 seconds every 3 hours, in a direction to where his fake leaves are dripping to the ground (Where this plants pot will be) Should i just regulate the ReptiRains misters until the soil can dry on top and be moist in the lower area of the potting soil?

3. Just a question in general about drainage with plants, as they need it i am getting a pot with drainage holes, i have never done this before being my first chameleon, drainage wise how do i avoid water from escaping the enclosure (Screen)?

Thanks

are the daylights LED? if so, your lighting should be fine.

This is tricky. Shefs like to be soaked and then allow the soild to dry out. I would say, have two plants. Rotate every few months so you can give them better conditions.

They make catch pans that fit the zoomed cages. if you offer plenty of water, you need to plumb in a fitting and hose.

1. How big is your enclosure? It's unusual to be using multiple basking bulbs. Also, you ought to replace the blue lights with regular incandescents. Colored lights are not recommended for chameleons. Is your UVB a compact or a linear tube?

2. Your misting time is so short, I don't think you even need to worry about it (honestly very short for your chameleon, too, tbh - 2 min or more is recommended if you're keeping your cham in screen).