Cham fell

Lexi468

Hey everybody!
I am new to Cham ownership and to the forum.
I have a female veiled chameleon that I rescued from somebody that was trying to donate her to the small pet store I work at. So far she’s been great. She is actually very friendly and comes to the front of her enclosure every day when I get home to come out. This morning she was hanging out on the screen door of her enclosure while it was open, and she fell to the ground. Probably about five feet. I picked her right up and put her back in her enclosure, and she seemed okay. However, when I got home, she was VERY grumpy. Like she is a muddy brown color and hisses at me when I go near her. She did eat some lettuce and drink a ton of water but is this to be expected? I’d be grumpy if I fell too but most things I read say their chameleons acted totally normal after.

Also, how does everybody deal with hydration? She has a dripper and I mist her once or twice a day but tonight she seemed excessively thirsty. Should I be misting three times a day?

Also, how does everybody deal with hydration? She has a dripper and I mist her once or twice a day but tonight she seemed excessively thirsty. Should I be misting three times a day?
Hi and welcome. :) So, just to ensure that you are doing everything correctly if you’d like to fill out this form, someone can review all of your husbandry. Pics of your chameleon and total enclosure including the top from lights down to floor are a huge help too.
For hydration, you want to be misting/spraying about 3 times daily for 2 minutes each time.

Chameleon Info:
  • Your Chameleon - The species, sex, and age of your chameleon. How long has it been in your care?
  • Handling - How often do you handle your chameleon?
  • Feeding - What are you feeding your cham? What amount? What is the schedule? How are you gut-loading your feeders?
  • Supplements - What brand and type of calcium and vitamin products are you dusting your feeders with and what is the schedule?