Cat may have cancer. Anyone with experience out there? ...pssst...Dayna...

Solid Snake

Avid Member
This is October:

October is 16 years old.

October stopped eating and drinking last Friday, and became very lethargic, and dehydrated.

I noted wheezing in him Saturday. We have been inundated with snow, and thinking he may just have a respiratory infection, thought he could wait until Monday to go to the Dr.

So he did.

They found a growth under his tongue, and removed it this morning.

Im confused as to how it could have effected him this suddenly, and am awaiting word on whether or not its cancerous.

Has anyone had a similar experience? Could anyone give me an opinion based on what the mass looks like?

We wont know for sure until next week, but just wanted to see if anyone had any thoughts in the mean time.

Last edited:
Unfortunately I have some experience, but I think it's a little different. My cat Dolce had a tumor on her back leg 2 years ago. The vets operated and removed it, but I didn't see the actual tumor. They told me it was due to her vaccinations. This past July we noticed another tumor, this one on the back of her neck. Back we went to the vet, but they said it was the same cause, and that this time there really wasn't a feasible option. They suggested more surgery, then radiation, and then said that the cancer would more than likely come back.

We did not want to put her through this again, so at the end of September we had her put to sleep. At the end she wasn't in pain, but was lethargic, and just wasn't herself. I highly doubt that your cat's cancer was caused by vaccinations, so hopefully one of the vets can chime in. Dolce was 10, BTW, and even though I had time to prepare it still hit me like a ton of bricks - I'm crying as I type this and it's been 2 months.

Good luck to October, and I hope that you have a better outcome than we did. :eek:

Hello. :)