Blind With MBD ! - Help.

Kryinix

Hello,

I've recently took care of a Little Yemen Female, who has a severe case of MBD due to her being a rescue due to previous owner's not having correct UVB, she is also blind.

This is a big deal for me, as i am new to chameleon's, but no to reptiles as a have several beardies and pythons.

Any suggestions on what i should do to help her recover , or is she too far gone ?

DWg2YIo.jpg

X6CM0LI.jpg

DCz2vD0.jpg

She drinks now and again from droplet's which i treat with Calcium Liquid, but she does not seem to be coping with eating, maybe the odd locust, ive only managed to feed her twice. The Vet's have had her eyes blasted and treated but to no use, even though i still think she can see partially she struggles. I try to dampen her eyes to keep her eye caps from drying out. Her balance seems good and she keeps on fighting , but my worry is will she ever recover if she cannot gut load.

Thank you !

Welcome to the forums, sorry to hear of the chameleon's problems. You will have to feed him. When I have someone old or sick I mash up worms and feed them out of a big syringe with no needle. I have also used Repti Boost. Keep giving him the liquid calcium daily and UVB. Nice warm showers a couple times a day might help with the eyes. I'm on my phone now but will take a better look at your pictures when I get home. I believe you have a male. Please fill out the Ask For Help Form linked below so we can make sure you have everything needed for this little mans recovery.
https://www.chameleonforums.com/how-ask-help-66/

Here's some good info about MBD: https://www.chameleonforums.com/wha...ase-mbd-looks-like-how-happens-how-fix-95071/

That is one skinny chameleon! It needs force feeding asap silkworms, hornworms and wax worms it needs bulking up to get its strenth back :( poor chameleon xx good luck well done

Welcome to the forum and the world of chameleons!