Baby Chameleon laying down??

mesmoria

Hi there,

I’m new to this forum and this is my first time owning a baby veiled Chameleon. I got her a week ago and she’s been doing great, however I’ve noticed two things.

As of the past few days, she’s been laying on her side. Not laying down completely, there is a picture attached. Her eyes are completely open and alert, and she doesn’t seem to be sick but this does worry me a bit. She’s been doing this the past few days and didn’t do this last week when I bought her. She does get up and walk around her enclosure and she moves like normal. Can anyone explain to me what this means?

The pet store instructed me to feed her 30 small crickets a day, 10-15 in the morning and some in the evening. She was doing excellent and eating a lot, but now her appetite has kind of dwindled. The small crickets in her enclosure haven’t been touched, and I’m wondering if she’s going to shed? The crickets are dusted with a calcium without d3 and she is given vitamins. She has a 60w incandescent daytime basking bulb and a 13w white UVB bulb. I have two misting nozzles in the enclosure that go off every 2 hours for 20 seconds. Her feces are white, and I’ve read that is a good sign.

Any help would be appreciated, I am new to this and want the best care for my little baby. I called the pet store and spoke with someone there who is experienced with Chammies, and she told me that it’s normal for baby chameleons to do this.
0D941B49-1C35-4096-BF13-E4990DF5BD71.jpeg

Attachments

• 198713AF-2D48-4748-9F9B-3DAE891FCFDB.jpeg
    198713AF-2D48-4748-9F9B-3DAE891FCFDB.jpeg
    224.9 KB · Views: 106
Last edited: