What got you interested in reptiles and chameleons?

DaChameleon66

Established Member
Hallo! I'm new to chameleon forums but I've been interested and intrigued by reptiles for years! I had owned a Jackson chameleon for a while but she sadly passed away on Friday. I hoped to join and learn more about chameleons and how to better take care of them. I was curious to know how everyone else here joined and what got them into chameleons and reptiles.

As a child, we lived in the country...there were snakes, toads, frogs around...so I caught them and learned about them and then let them go. My parents wouldn't let me have any pets, so that was all I could do. When my kids were little, I taught them what I new and we looked for snakes, toads, frogs, salamanders...studied them for a bit then put them back where we found them. My daughter had fur allergies and wanted something that didn't live in a fish bowl...so we got an iguana. I'm sorry for the iguana because she suffered from our lack of knowledge....but we learned. Someone gave us a basilisk. It did fine with us. I soon stumbled upon a chameleon in a pet store and took it home. I knew nothing about chameleons except that they changed color.
Luck played a part ...and I did enough right by acccident that it did well with me for a year or more. (I have no idea how old she was when I got her.)
I just went on from there....for 30+ years.

About three years ago, my son came to live with me while transitioning after a breakup. He then learned his ex had stopped caring for her chameleon. I told him to go get him. He was invery bad shape so i began reading everything i could find on veileds and was hooked! Such facinating creatures!

Sorry to hear about your Jackson's @DaChameleon66 have you thought about getting another?