Werner Chameleon

caviness81

Any information on werner chameleon? I have a male and a female about 6 to 8 months old. Both are doing good eating crikets and mealworms both will eat out of hand sometimes dead crickets. Female is drinking from drip system male is not. I also spray them about 2 times aday, but not directly on them. just wanting to get any information on these species as possible I am brand new at this

Welcome to the site and chameleons.
Well, you definitely picked a great species to work with.
Good thing you got them now.
They are protected from export this year or maybe for good.
They are moderately difficult species to take care of.
They are a Montane, so you will need lower temps and and high humidity.
Temperature should never reach above 85 degrees during the day.
A decent night time drop in the low 70's to mid 60's atleast.
70-80% humdidity during the day and near 100% at night.
Seasonal breeding
Live birth
Gestation is between 5-10 months.
You female might already be pregnant if she is a wild caught.

I'm sure Trace can fill you in a little more.

Here is a great place to start:
http://www.adcham.com/html/taxonomy/species/chwerneri.html

Can you fill this out, that way we can evaluate your husbandry?

Cage Info:
Cage Type - What kind of cage are you using? What is the size?
Lighting - What kind of lighting are you using? How long do you keep the lights on during the day?
Temperature - What temperature range have you created? Basking spot temp? What is the temperature at night?
Humidity - What are your humidity levels? How are you creating and maintaining these levels?
Plants - Are you using live plants? If so, what kind?
Location - Where is your cage located? Is it near any fans, air vents, or high traffic areas?

Chameleon Info:
Your Chameleon - The species, sex, and age of your chameleon.
Feeding - What are you feeding your cham? What amount? What kind of schedule? How are you gut-loading your feeders?