Transition from juvenile to adult feeder question

Hello everyone,

I am a novice Panther Chameleon owner; I received my boy in May. He was born in January, meaning he is approximately 10 months old.

This is my first post on the forums, and I am excited to become a part of this community!

I've been researching the quantity and the consistency to which I should feed him through these transition periods; however, I've found plenty of contradictory information.

My question is, when is the optimal time to transition from the juvenile quantities of 8-10 bugs per day to 4-6 bugs every couple of days? (If these quantities are incorrect, please let me know).

As well, if there are any tips for beginning this transition, they would be greatly appreciated.

I'll attach a picture of Juno from a couple of months ago to show him off because I am a very proud dad :)

Attachments

• Screenshot_20220823-191234_Chrome.png
    Screenshot_20220823-191234_Chrome.png
    1.2 MB · Views: 52
Hi there. Welcome to the forum. So at 10 months old you want to kick him over to an every other day feeding schedule of 8-10 bugs. At 11 months old going from 8 feeders I start then transitioning down by reducing 1 feeder a week. This way by the time they are 12 months old they are eating 4 feeders every other day. As an adult we recommend Panthers get 3-4 feeders every other day. Unless they start showing signs of obesity. Let me know if you have any questions. :) He is a handsome boy.

Thank you for the quick reply Beman! So I should begin the transition now in terms of lowering the quantity of feeders. Other than this, is there an exact science to lowering the amount of bugs per feeder?

Also, what are some ways to determine signs of obesity? If I recall correctly, it has something to do with the shape of their cask?

I look forward to hearing from you again.