The Tip of My Chameleons tail is a little black does it mean something?

MaraM

I’m very new to chameleons, I got a new veiled chameleon yesterday. I did research on them for about 2 months before getting one so I know a decent amount. Yesterday as I was putting her into her new cage, I noticed the tip of her tail is slightly black. I just kind of let it be and would check on it later to see if it’s still there. I checked today and it look pretty much the same. I’m not sure if it’s just her coloring or if it’s something I should be worried about. I don’t think she looks sick at all, she’s eating fine and she can still move it because I saw she had it curled up last night. It might just be the coloring and I’m just a little paranoid but I would definitely rather be safe than sorry so if anyone does know please let me know what it is. If you need anymore pictures or details I can provide more. (Sorry the picture is a little blurry, it was hard to focus on her little tail ?)

Attachments

• 5B17C4FE-874C-428F-A5F0-7F2A51686ABA.jpeg
    5B17C4FE-874C-428F-A5F0-7F2A51686ABA.jpeg
    87.5 KB · Views: 119
  • DCDFAA84-71D7-4D3F-AF64-6EA3466209AD.jpeg
    DCDFAA84-71D7-4D3F-AF64-6EA3466209AD.jpeg
    197 KB · Views: 172
Hi there and welcome. Looks as though she has a bit of an injury. Could have been from a clutch mate biting her or even someone closed her tail in a door. Is she curling it all the way up? Using it to hold on?

The main thing is you want to make sure it does not become necrotic and die off... looks almost like there is a spot at the start of the color deterioration. Maybe from a feeder biting her. Not sure.

See what it looks like tomorrow and update with new pics.

Hi there and welcome. Looks as though she has a bit of an injury. Could have been from a clutch mate biting her or even someone closed her tail in a door. Is she curling it all the way up? Using it to hold on?