Pygmy Chameleon questions.

Lurdalar

Hi, this is kind of a late night rambly first post, so I'll Tl;dr this at the end with more concise points. Hm, halfway through and this is wordy as heck, I'd recommend skipping the angst for now. Having read it all, I'd recommend skipping to the end for now.

===================================================

First, I'm amazed to have stumbled into this forum, and have spent the better part of the week reading as many stories and seeing as many pics/videos/setups that you guys and girls have. Positively inspiring and floors me at the same time, and I don't believe I've seen more than a fraction of the whole so far.

I've got limited experience with Jacksons, Veileds and Pygmies; years ago I gave them all a go. The Jacksons and Veiled had to be traded or sold off following a pretty bad car accident, and the Pygmies crashed more or less due to me being an overeager kid, though that might also have been related to the car accident.

The thing is, I enjoyed them the most despite being a generally non-handle-able species. To me they're similar in appearance to a Stegosaurus without the plates, and the size and temperaments were 'perfect' for a young guy in a tiny apartment. The issues I had were likely going into something too hard too soon(the setup was fine, as well as feeding and watering), and they all passed away in quick succession: likely due to sickness or fungus, let alone very likely being badly handled imports. This left me horribly guilty for the care I gave and the outcome, and it made me re-evaluate the level of responsibility I can provide.