Plant Gnats No Longer!

absolutbill

Chameleon Enthusiast
I've been battling against the dreaded plant gnats for a couple of years now, and I've tried nearly everything. I tried those granules that you pour over your plants, I've tried the cider vinegar traps, and never had any success. Finally my husband lost his patience and bought the Katchy bug catcher on Amazon (I'm sure you can find it other places as well), and boy is this a game-changer! It's small, smaller than a gallon of milk, and I have it in my reptile room, near the door. It has a light on it and a sticky pad inside on the bottom that you can easily replace. This thing has worked so well, and since I know this is a common issue for those of us with naturally planted cages I wanted to share. I'm not a part of this company, and don't stand to benefit at all if you buy one, I just like to pass along tips and tricks that work well. Here's the link to check it out:

https://www.amazon.com/Original-Ind...&qid=1584014809&sprefix=katchy,aps,159&sr=8-6

We typically keep the door mostly closed, but open about 4-6" at all times. With that set-up we had great success catching these little buggers and then I hit upon a good idea. A few hours after lights out when my chams were totally zonked out, I'd go in to the room, open their cage doors (they are all in Dragonstrand Large Clearsided Atriums so these gnats can't really get out super easily), and close the door to the reptile room. The gnats would leave the cage and the only light source would be from the Katchy, so that's where they would meet their demise. I'd only do this during my shower, so the doors were open for 15-20 min at the most, then I'd go in, close the cage doors and open the main door to the reptile room as normal.