Panther eye closing

Ryan Jarosek

Well it looks like a Vet visit is needed. Looks like it is more of a problem than when I mist him. He blinks the problem eye a lot and even closes it sometimes. I misted him again and he keeps that eye closed. Seems there is a problem.

As far as I can tell it does not look like there is anything wrong but I have no experience.

I feel bad for the little guy , I really hope its nothing serious.

For what length of time is he keeping his eye closed? Is it JUST during the misting? Is there any filming or discharge?

I think he keeps it closed for only a short time. Like 30 sec or so. Although when he is hiding I can't really see it.

I don't see any filming or discharge, and both eyes seem to look the same when open.

He may just be doing it to clear his eye of something. I would wait until tomorrow or Wednesday and see how things go and if he seems worse or doesn't improve, I would at least call a vet. Just keep misting him as usual. If he does have something in his eye, that will help him clean it out.

Howdy Ryan,

Well at least if it does turn into something, you've got Dr. Greek in your town :). (Can you imagine if he was your next door neighbor :rolleyes:.) I've seen some chameleons; my own included, close one eye as a sign of stressed induced just by keeper interaction. My old Veiled will close his left eye if I bring a feeder too close to his face. He won't close it any other time including when I pick him up to take him to his outdoor enclosure :eek:. He'll only close it for a couple of seconds and opens it when I withdraw my hand with the food item.

Thanks Dave, He does seem to do it when I am trying to see if it is closed. :) Could be from me getting to close. I am happy Dr. Greek is right down the street from me. I am going to give him a call if it doesn't get better in a day or so as recommended by Kat.

I love this fourm!!!!!!