New to this - Mating Behavior?

andrearamirezo91

Avid Member
Hello friends :)

I haven't been here in a very long time! Mango has been doing excellent and I've been extra busy with college, work, guitar classes, and all my pets lol.

So recently, one of my friends called me saying he bought a female panther, which he intends on breeding. So here are a few questions/concerns that I have since I am totally new to this:

- Obviously, the goal of breeding is making money. Since he has the female and will be caring for all the eggs I'm assuming he'll get the big cut of the money. However, if he wants to use my boy, do I get something for that or would it just be a favor? How does this work?!
- He brought her to my house today since he wanted to look at my boy in person and introduce the two (even though she still seems far too young and small - The seller told him he'd still have to wait around 3-4 months to breed her but I suspect he might have to wait longer). We placed them on a plant my boy usually basks on when it's supervised exploration time and he got very colorful but displayed dark markings on his face which usually symbolize distress. He then started bobbing his head a little and tried approaching her. I separated them quickly before he was able to get near her. Was this aggressive or mating behavior?
- My suspicions are that it was aggression because she seemed too small to be ready to mate and did not have that pinkish color that (from my understanding) means she's receptive.

So... How should I approach this? How will we know when the female is ready? I'm afraid of letting him approach her because I fear he might hurt her. I don't like doing anything until I know as much as I can about it, and this is an area that I'm completely ignorant in. And whereas he's the one that will be doing most of the work, I'd love to know what's going on for the safety and wellbeing of both chams.

Just attached a picture of his coloring as he was seeing her.