new pygmies and enclosure

shawn_melanson

Established Member
so i started with 2 pygmies and now i have 6 i am still relatively new to pygmy's so if anyone sees anything wrong with my set up let me know,ill be posting pictures of my enclosure witch is a 40 gal tank. also i have a couple questions. question 1 is can you help me make sure have the sex of my pygmy's right. question 2 im pretty sure i have 1 maybe 2 gravid females should i try to get the eggs out and incubate them of leave them in the tank to incubate the tank is always above 65 and below 87. i use coconut fiber for the bottom 3-4 inches deep and a false bottom.

photo 1- male

photo 2- small female

photo 3 male

photo 4- possibly gravid female

photo 5- possibly gravid female

Attachments

• photo 5.jpg
    photo 5.jpg
    250.7 KB · Views: 346
  • photo 4(1).jpg
    photo 4(1).jpg
    252.9 KB · Views: 312
  • photo 3(3).jpg
    photo 3(3).jpg
    253.4 KB · Views: 362
  • photo 2(3).jpg
    photo 2(3).jpg
    249.9 KB · Views: 326
  • photo 1(3).jpg
    photo 1(3).jpg
    253.4 KB · Views: 304
this is my enclosure sorry crappy cell pics and one more pygmy

thinking this is a male?

Attachments

• photo 1(2).jpg
    photo 1(2).jpg
    253.9 KB · Views: 320
  • photo 3(2).jpg
    photo 3(2).jpg
    256.5 KB · Views: 392
  • photo 2(2).jpg
    photo 2(2).jpg
    249.3 KB · Views: 372
Thanks for sharing! Your setup looks good.

As for your questions. Sexing can be difficult even in person but pictures are even harder. I believe you have some right but not sold on them all. My opinion is 1. Male (100%) 2. I believe male, his tail isn't too long yet I vote male. 2. I don't know, I honestly want to say female but would need more pictures. 4. Female I could see being gravid 5. Female.

We take all our eggs out to incubate. You can leave them in but that is completely up to you.

Thanks for sharing! Your setup looks good.