New Chameleon Owner

nafissoumik

Hello!

I’m new to this so I apologize for any mistakes. I recently got a new chameleon from petco(yes I know that was a big mistake, I got another one from a breeder today which is doing great) and it hasn’t eaten in 5 days. It has drank water but it looks extremely skinny and not in good shape. It also has its eyes closed majority of the time. Any tips or suggestions on what to do? (I want to try and sort of rescue this cham and nurse it back to health as best as I can)

Attachments

• 7E9347AA-6D4F-4775-8B9C-6CDEC9B47790.jpeg
    7E9347AA-6D4F-4775-8B9C-6CDEC9B47790.jpeg
    168.1 KB · Views: 59
  • 715413FA-707D-46FC-A396-E0A85A651F23.jpeg
    715413FA-707D-46FC-A396-E0A85A651F23.jpeg
    176.4 KB · Views: 59
Welcome on here! Is your other chameleon a veiled, as well? The best way for us to help you would be if you could fill out this form in as much detail as possible, including pics of the entire cage and lights! Also, if you could post pictures of the back of its back feet, we can help you sex it, too!

Here is some recommended information to include when asking for help in the health clinic forum. By providing this information you will receive more accurate and beneficial responses. It might not be necessary to answer all these questions, but the more you provide the better. Please remember that even the most knowledgeable person can only guess at what your problem may be. Only an experienced reptile veterinarian who can directly examine your animal can give a true diagnosis of your chameleon's health.

Chameleon Info:
  • Your Chameleon - The species, sex, and age of your chameleon. How long has it been in your care?
  • Handling - How often do you handle your chameleon?
  • Feeding - What are you feeding your cham? What amount? What is the schedule? How are you gut-loading your feeders?
  • Supplements - What brand and type of calcium and vitamin products are you dusting your feeders with and what is the schedule?