New and Hello from Hong Kong

Rayzilla

Hello everyone [I wanted to use chameleon forum lingo here but I don't really know any yet so feel free to teach me some :)]

I am originally from Toronto, Canada until moving to Hong Kong in 2009 so I am a CBC (Canadian Born Chinese), although my Cantonese is not very good.

If any of you are from the Hong Kong or Asia/South East Asia area, I would love to hear from you. It would be priceless to learn in person from an experienced local Hong Kong member that can show me some reliable shops or to check out your set up if you don't mind.

I am new to the idea of raising a chameleon. I have had many pets in the past including saltwater marine fish and invertebrates, African cichlids, frogs, crayfishes, dogs (currently have one now too along with a Siamese Fighting Fish), etc.

I have been doing some research so far and I am considering a male captive born Veiled Chameleon as my first. If I come across a great opportunity for a Panther Chameleon, I would consider that. I will continue researching on proper care and raising of chameleons and hope to make a purchase in a few months from now (July).

The other task at hand is to get my wife to buy in on this new adventure. If your significant other was initially not on the same page in terms of getting into the reptile hobby, how did you go about changing their mind? I could hear some funny or creative ideas here. lol

I look forward to receiving many tips and advice from this forum and learning as much as I can to make sure that my cham will have a comfortable and happy environment.

Cheers!

Hello and welcome to the forums :)

You've come to the right place! There are so many people on here that have lots of knowledge about chameleons along with really informative care sheets.

As for convincing your wife about getting one...just show her some pictures of baby chameleons..they're just so cute and really hard to resist!