Mealybugs on plants I got for my enclosure

bbyoda

Chameleon Enthusiast
Hi everyone,

I got some plants for my bioactive enclosure and have been keeping them outside while I assemble my chameleon's adult size cage, the branches, soil, etc.

Unfortunately it looks like the hibiscus I got has mealybugs. I'm new to Florida but haven't had any issues with mealybugs in the past so I thought it'd be okay to keep plants outside in the sun.

Is there a way to clean (alcohol and soap scrubs are my plan, followed by neem spray) and quarantine these plants and still safely use them in my bioactive enclosure? Are the plants around the hibiscus safe to use if I don't see any mealybugs on them? Or are they all just outdoor plants forevermore now?

It seems like these pests are pretty persistent from other threads I've read so I'm leaning towards not risking it.

Thanks for the advice!

These guys are a pita! Ive been battling thrm and several other pests in my bio enclosures for months. I introduced a few plants too soon and now its impossible. Ill be starting over soon.

I’d take at least 2 weeks to quarantine them. I’d pull them and rinse ofd the soil. Spray the whole plant with a mix if soapy dawn dish soap + alcohol first, and a strong blast of water to rinse. Then I’d immediately treat with neem oil and repot. Wait two weeks and repeat the soapy wash to get all the neem off. If you can spare the time, you can retreat with neem and wait another week or two since their life cycle lasts over a month.

It sucks but once theyre established in your cage its very difficult to manage them.

These guys are a pita! Ive been battling thrm and several other pests in my bio enclosures for months. I introduced a few plants too soon and now its impossible. Ill be starting over soon.